Lilypad007's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Runway at NY Fashion Week September 11, 2010

Filed under: Fashion,TV and Movies — lilypad007 @ 9:05 pm

As the season aired on Lifetime, there were ten Project Runway designers remaining on the show as Fashion Week arrived. All ten showed on Thursday– seven decoy collections, along with the three actual finalists, which will not be revealed until the finale airs on October 28th. Only the three finalists’ collections will air on the finale, so you can wait until then if you do not want any spoilers, or you can check out all of the collections here now!

To my disappointment, nothing really blew me away like season 4 winner Christian Siriano’s collection did. But I do like Mondo and Andy, so I am hoping they made it to the finals. While Mondo and I do not share the same style, I like his collection enough to want to buy some of the separates! With Andy, I am not so sure about the green he chose, and some of his designs are a little restrained, but I think he is very talented and I love almost everything I have seen on the show from him. I also like Ivy’s very wearable collection (even though I’m not a big fan of what I have seen on the show so far, in terms of her designs AND attitude). I like April’s collection as well, although I am not so sure about the drab color choices. The two-time winner (so far) Gretchen disappoints (I haven’t really been a fan of her style anyways). I’m not so sure about Valerie’s Skittles color palette either! Anyways, check out the collections for yourself by clicking on the designer’s name:

Michael CostelloGretchen JonesMondo GuerraAndy SouthCasanova (out Sept. 9th)Michale Drummond (out Sept.16th)Ivy Higa (out Sept. 23rd)Valerie Mayen (out Sept. 30th)Christopher Collins (out Oct. 7th)April Johnston (out Oct. 14th)

 

One Response to “Project Runway at NY Fashion Week”

  1. sophie Says:

    Not too thrilled with any of them. I think it’s a toss up between April and Andy. April’s is definitely the edgiest…and Andy’s the most wearable and unique at the same time.

    Gretchen’s is a snooze. The colors are all so muddy. Ivy seems to have channeled everyone elses designs into her own. Gretchen too a little. Suddenly, they’re all over the teensy tiny ‘shorts’ that April was making.

    Mondo has remained true to his aesthetic…unfortunately, as much as I like him, I don’t care for his work in this collection.


Leave a Reply

